World Hearing Day

ear-ringing-illustration

Today is World Hearing Day and as I’ve had permanent tinnitus in one ear for the last 12 months, it’s something I’ve recently taken more interest in.

The British Tinnitus Association‘s website has a lot of information, and they’ve recently set up a linked website, Take On Tinnitus, which is geared towards those newly diagnosed.

Tinnitus seems to be a ‘thing’ in my family: my gran had it for most of her long life, and both my mother and my aunt have it. I feel very fortunate in that, at the moment, it doesn’t bother me, I can ignore it, but having just joined a support group on Facebook it seems many do struggle with it.

If you’re in the UK and have it, I’d suggest taking a look at these websites, along with this one, which covers all hearing related problems.

Also, this year I’ve chosen British Tinnitus Association as my annual charity (they’re the only tinnitus charity in the UK). I have two 10k events lined up, and I’m also going to be doing a ‘virtual’ event each month. If you’d like to help BTA out, please donate on my JustGiving page here. Thank you!

 

